Is It Vegan: Stork Block


The vitamin D might make you doubt it, but yes, Stork baking margarine is vegan. We verified the source of the vitamin D with the manufacturer (see below). The company advised us that the vitamin is plant-derived (Vitamin D2) and the product is vegan.


We found it quite hard to find a definitive answer about Stork on the internet, so we thought we'd email Unilever and find out. Here is the response:


Now whether you want to buy from Unilever is another question of course (that one's easy to google).

Other options include Tomor margarine from Rakusens. Stork block is widely available though, and is often your only source of dairy-free baking margarine. At least you can put the doubts about the Vitamin D to the back of your mind.

Stork baking margarine is vegan.




Web: veganoo.net   Twitter: @veganoo   Facebook: fb.com/veganoo.net   Flickr: veganoo


Vegan Blog · Vegan Product Reviews · Vegan Food Reviews · Vegan News · Vegetarian

7 comments:

  1. I'd never even thought to look at the ingredients of this margarine! I try and avoid buying Unilever products personally but stuff like this is great to tell people about who think finding vegan products is difficult.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, sometimes you think it's not even worth looking. Most baking marg is without milk ingredients, but it's usually the D3 to be wary of.

      Delete
  2. Forgot to say in the post... Stork in a tub contains milk.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Only the non-Passover Tomor is vegan, during Passover the D is not vegan. It's all clearly labelled Kosher for Passover with no vegan society logo during this period.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Trex vegetable shortening is another good vegetable fat for making icing and general baking uses.

    ReplyDelete

We love to hear from you! Links to other vegan or related sites are welcome in the comments.

ANONYMOUS COMMENTS ARE CURRENTLY TURNED OFF DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF SPAM WE'RE GETTING.