Unrelated to today's other post...
The ingredients list on the back of Cadbury's Bournville chocolate has changed back and forth over the years to include or exclude dairy products...usually milk fat. The current ingredients list is animal free, but includes one of those annoying disclaimers:
THIS PRODUCT CONTAINS MILK DUE TO THE UNAVOIDABLE CROSS CONTAMINATION FROM MILK CHOCOLATE MADE ON THE SAME MANUFACTURING LINE
This is the same disclaimer Green and Blacks (also Cadbury/Kraft) currently use.
There are plenty of alternatives to Bournville, some of which we'll review shortly, but they probably all have similar production lines that are shared with milk chocolate.
Bournville is reasonably good dark chocolate and is widely available, and we think vegans can be excused if they turn a blind eye to disclaimers like these. If you want to know our views on production issues...read our How Vegan is Vegan post.